Canku Ota

(Many Paths)

An Online Newsletter Celebrating Native America

December 2, 2000 - Issue 24


Canadian Aboriginal Music Award Winners

by Andrew Flynn

 photo of Fara

Bluesman George Leach and singer Sandy Scofield were double winners recently at the second annual Canadian Aboriginal Music Awards.

Hosted by Vancouver-based singer Fara and Six Nations Reserve rocker Derek Miller, the awards were held before a crowd of about 2,000 at downtown SkyDome, in Toronto, Canada.

"What our music needs is more publicity, more promotion, more pump, more juice from radio," Fara exclaimed looking out over the mostly aboriginal audience.

"Hey, maybe next year the house will be half-native and the other half will be non-native."

Fara, who picked up two awards at the inaugural ceremony last year, was also named best female artist at the awards.

Leach won best male artist and also best rock album for Just Where I'm At. Scofield took best new age/alternative album for Riel's Road. Her song Beat the Drum from the same album was named song of the year.

Performers at the show included Miller, Fara, Nakoda Lodge and the Lost Dancers, Priscilla Morin, Eagle & Hawk, Jacinthe Trudeau, C-Weed, Locos Bravos, Vern Cheechoo, On Ji Da and Red Power Squad.

Best country album went to Morin for her album Waiting For You.

"I was standing backstage and thinking I know C-Weed's going to win it," said a breathless Morin, who was raised in the Kikino Metis Settlement 40 kilometres south of Lac La Biche, Alberta.

"I waited to hear the name and I thought I heard Priscilla Morin. I asked the guy back there, is that me? This is an absolute honour for me, to be recognized by your own people in Canada."

Best traditional powwow album went to Little Pine Cree Nation drummers and singers Red Bull for their record The Best of Red Bull.

Mishi Donovan was named best songwriter for Journey Home and best folk album went to Metis fiddler Jacinthe Trudeau for Echo.

Best drum songs album went to Saskatoon's Sweetgrass Records for Best of the Best.

The special keeper of traditions award went to Vancouver traditional musician Flora Wallace.

Legendary Inuit musician William Tagoona received the lifetime contributions award and the music industry award was given to Kelly Parker, Kelly Parker, CEO of Saskatoon's Turtle Island Music, an independent record label and studio focusing on Native American music and artists.

Winners in the 2000 Canadian Aboriginal Music Awards:

Best traditional album -- contemporary and historic: On Ji Da, On Ji Da.

Best drum songs album: Sweetgrass Records, Best of the Best.

Best powwow album -- traditional: Red Bull, The Best of Red Bull.

Best powwow album -- contemporary: Nakoda Lodge, Chico's Trail

Best song, single: Sandy Scofield, Beat the Drum from Riel's Road.

Best songwriter: Mishi Donovan.

Best producer/engineer: Vern Cheechoo/John Switzer, Touch the Earth and Sky.

Best album cover design: Little Island Cree/ Dark Horse Studio, Indian Country.

Best group or duo: Slowhand.

Best rock album: George Leach, Just Where I'm At.

Best country album: Priscilla Morin, Waiting For You.

Best folk album: Jacinthe Trudeau, Echo.

Best new age/alternative album: Sandy Scofield, Riel's Road.

Best instrumental album: Locos Bravos, Locos Bravos, Mandala.

Best male artist: George Leach.

Best female artist: Fara.

Keeper of traditions award: Flora Wallace.

Lifetime contributions award: William Tagoona.

Music industry award: Kelly Parker.

Canadian Aboriginal Music Awards



Canku Ota is a free Newsletter celebrating Native America, its traditions and accomplishments . We do not provide subscriber or visitor names to anyone. Some articles presented in Canku Ota may contain copyright material. We have received appropriate permissions for republishing any articles. Material appearing here is distributed without profit or monetary gain to those who have expressed an interest. This is in accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. section 107.

Canku Ota is a copyright of Vicki Lockard and Paul Barry.


The "Canku Ota - A Newsletter Celebrating Native America" web site and its design is the Copyright © 1999 of Paul C. Barry.
All Rights Reserved.