Canku Ota Logo

Canku Ota

Canku Ota Logo

(Many Paths)

An Online Newsletter Celebrating Native America


August 9, 2003 - Issue 93


pictograph divider


Chief Manuelito Scholarship Awards Announced

by Jim Snyder Farmington Daily Times
credits: {credits}

CROWNPOINT — The Navajo Nation's Crownpoint Finance and Scholarship Office has announced the 2003 Chief Manuelito Scholarship awards for Navajo students.

The Chief Manuelito Scholarship was established in 1980. Awards are based on high school grade averages and the ACT/SAT test scores. Students must have also completed Navajo language and Navajo government courses.

The award is worth $7,000 per academic year. Students must maintain a 3.0 grade point average and carry at least 12 hours of classes per semester. Students can take up to 10 semesters to complete their bachelor degrees, making the award worth a potential $35,000. Students must reapply for the award each year with the tribe demonstrating they have met the requirements to keep it going for another year, said Rowena Becenti, director of the Crownpoint office.

The award comes with a medallion depicting Chief Manuelito, who was born in the Chuska Mountains in 1818. He successfully evaded the U.S. Army in the mid-1860s when they were rounding up Navajos and destroying their homes, livestock and crops. Eventually, Manuelito was forced to surrender at Ft. Wingate to protect Navajo women and children.

He endured the Long Walk and later was one of the signers of the June 1, 1868, treaty with the United States. Then he led his people back home.

"The day before we were to start we went a little way toward home, because we were so anxious to start ... when we saw the top of the mountain from Albuquerque we wondered if it was our mountain, and we felt like talking to the ground, we loved it so, and some of the old men and women cried with joy when they reached their homes," Manuelito said.

Manuelito, of the Bit'aa'nii Clan, lived until 1893. He is reported to also have said "... my grandchild, education is the ladder. Tell our people to take it."

The award recipients and the high school they graduated from are: Connie L. Ambrose, Ganado High School; Juanita J. Antonio, Ramah High School; Tristan A. Basham, Coconino High School; Kaylana J. Begay, Chinle High School; Lyle Begay, St. Michaels High School; Parnell Thomas Begay, Sinagua High School; Roland C. Bekis-Salt, Monument Valley High School; Savannah Benally, Shiprock High School; Donavon Billy, Rehoboth High School; Peterson Brossy, Punahou High School, Hawaii; Savannah V. Burnside, St. Michaels High School; Ronson Riley Chee, Sinagua High School; Nathan Chester, St. Michaels High School; Samuel W. Chief, Monument Valley High School; Mikaela R. Crank, Hawaii Preparatory Academy and Brandi R. Cron, Gallup High School.

Also are: Shannon Davis, Chinle High School; Melinda L. Dee, Monument Valley High School, Utah; Davida B. Delmar, Flagstaff High School; Chrystal R. Denetclaw, Kirtland Central High School; Verdaleen Denetdale, St. Michaels High School; Roxanne Denetso, Ganado High School; Cherie L. DeVore, Crownpoint High School; Ryan R. Dodson, Gallup High School; Melissa A. Draper, Navajo Preparatory High School; Crystal Dugi, Tuba City High School; Loni L. Dugi, Greyhills High School; Rachel Felix, Gallup High School; Lino Footracer, Page High School and Marisha R. Forster, Valley High School.

Also included are: Jody Franklin, Farmington High School; Jeremy S. Fuson, Flagstaff High School; Savannah Gene, Navajo Preparatory High School; Charmayne Gene, Tuba City High School; Tiffiney D. George, Ogden High School; Mica R. Gilmore, Monument Valley High School; Brittany Greymountain, Monument Valley High School; Sheena C. Hale, Sinagua High School; Christopher R. Hansen, Page High School; Ronelle A. Hardy, Tuba City High School; John M. Huyser, Window Rock High School; Marc R. Jackson, Tuba City High School; Shundiin Jakub, Cooperhill High School; Myron L. James, Ganado High School, Amanda E. John, Tohatchi High School and Melissa S. Kaye, Flagstaff High School.

In addition are: Shannon Ann Lee, Coconino High School; James Jarod Meyers, Tuba City High School; King Paul Mike III, Chinle High School; Myrond Muskett, Gallup High School; Jamie R. Nez, Page High School; Carson M. Pete, Ganado High School; Melissa M. Peterson, Ganado High School; Rudy A. Preston, Tuba City High School; Michael Raphaelito, Pine Hill High School; Beatriz O. Reyes, Gallup High School; LaTisha Beth Rico, Navajo Preparatory High School; Nicole Rockwell, Shiprock High School; Shannon M. Saltclah, Piedra Vista High School; Leatricia L. Sampson, Thoreau High School and Joby J. Shirley, Chinle High School.

In addition are: Jovonna Slivers, Newcomb High School; Allanceson Smith, Newcomb High School; Mildred M. Smith, Tuba City High School; Daniel Thomason, Gallup High School; Altoveda Tso, Monument Valley High School; Heidi L. Tso, Tuba City High School; Lawrence A. Wallen, Monument Valley High School; Shawna P. Whitehat, Monument Valley High School; Selesia L. Winston, Magdalena High School; Cody T. Yazzie, St. Michaels High School and Stanley Yellowhair, Holbrook High School.

Crownpoint, NM Map

Maps by Travel

pictograph divider

Home PageFront PageArchivesOur AwardsAbout Us

Kid's PageColoring BookCool LinksGuest BookEmail Us


pictograph divider

  Canku Ota is a free Newsletter celebrating Native America, its traditions and accomplishments . We do not provide subscriber or visitor names to anyone. Some articles presented in Canku Ota may contain copyright material. We have received appropriate permissions for republishing any articles. Material appearing here is distributed without profit or monetary gain to those who have expressed an interest. This is in accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107.  

Canku Ota is a copyright © 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003 of Vicki Lockard and Paul Barry.

Canku Ota Logo   Canku Ota Logo

The "Canku Ota - A Newsletter Celebrating Native America" web site and its design is the

Copyright © 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003 of Paul C. Barry.

All Rights Reserved.

Site Meter
Thank You

Valid HTML 4.01!