Canku Ota Logo

Canku Ota

Canku Ota Logo

(Many Paths)

An Online Newsletter Celebrating Native America


May 1, 2004 - Issue 112


pictograph divider


American Indian College Fund Names 2004 Students of the Year

by American Indian College Fund press release

Each honoree will receive a $1000 scholarship

The American Indian College Fund has named 34 American Indian students 2004 Students of the Year. Each honoree was selected to receive a $1000 scholarship. The award is based upon a student's academic achievement and community service.

"These outstanding students have demonstrated their ability and promise," Richard B. Williams, president and CEO of the Fund said in a press release. "We are honored to be able to recognize and help these future leaders."

The 2004 Students of the Year, including their tribal colleges and affiliations, and their majors, are:

In Arizona, Diné College, Tsaile: Violet Tso, Navajo, Liberal Arts/Social Sciences; Tohono O'odham Community College, Sells: Cheryl Antone, Tohono O'odham Nation, Computer Science

In California, D-Q University, Davis: Michael Williams, Western Band Temaok Shoshone, Community Development

In Kansas, Haskell Indian Nations University, Lawrence: Lydia Roach, Cheyenne River Sioux Tribe, Elementary Education

In Michigan, Bay Mills Community College, Brimley: Joseph Lucier, Little Traverse Bay Band of Odawa, Sociology/Human Services; Keweenaw Bay Ojibwa Community College, Baraga: Robin Chosa, Keweenaw Bay Ojibwa, Business Management/Information Systems; Saginaw Chippewa Tribal College, Mount Pleasant: Ranee Pelcher, Grand Traverse Band of Ottawa & Chippewa, General Studies

In Minnesota, Fond du Lac Tribal and Community College, Cloquet: Josephine Barney, Minnesota Chippewa Tribe, Social Services; Leech Lake Tribal College, Cass Lake: Lois Jacobs, Minnesota Chippewa Tribe, Anishinaabe Studies; White Earth Tribal and Community College, Mahnomen: Jo Reyes, Minnesota Chippewa Tribe, Business

In Montana, Blackfeet Community College, Browning: Crystal Tailfeathers, Blackfeet Nation, Business Administration; Chief Dull Knife College, Lame Deer: Michelle Spang, Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa, Education/Counseling; Fort Belknap College, Harlem: Alicia Werk, Crow Nation, Allied Health Fort Peck Community College, Poplar: Chris Martinez, Fort Peck Assiniboine and Sioux Tribes, Hazardous Materials and Waste Technology; Little Big Horn College, Crow Agency: Tana Perez, Crow Nation, Social Services; Salish Kootenai College, Pablo: Lailani Upham-O'Donnell, Blackfeet Nation, Business; Stone Child College, Box Elder: Richelle Morrow, Chippewa Cree, Office Administration

In Nebraska, Little Priest Tribal College, Winnebago: Stephanie Parker, Omaha Nation of Nebraska and Iowa, Liberal Arts; Nebraska Indian Community College, Macy: Michael Lasley, Omaha Tribe of Nebraska, Computer Information Technology

In New Mexico, Crownpoint Institute of Technology, Crownpoint: Malanie Begay, Navajo, Environmental Science & Natural Resources; Institute of American Indian Arts, Santa Fe: Nancy Strickland, Lumbee Nation, Museum Studies; Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute, Albuquerque: Faye Bond, Navajo, Liberal Arts

In North Dakota, Cankdeska Cikana Community College, Fort Totten: Elisha Lawrence, Spirit Lake Nation, Nursing; Fort Berthold Community College, New Town: Edmond Fixico, Cheyenne/Arapaho Tribes of Oklahoma, Human Services; Sitting Bull College, Fort Yates: Monique Runnels, Standing Rock/Oglala Sioux Tribes, Nursing; Turtle Mountain Community College, Belcourt: Angie LaRocque, Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa, Pre-Nursing; United Tribes Technical College, Bismarck: Geri Fisher, Cheyenne River Sioux Tribe, Office Technology

In South Dakota, Oglala Lakota College, Kyle: Zannita Fast Horse, Oglala Sioux Tribe, Environmental Studies; Si Tanka University, Eagle Butte: Barbara Dupris, Cheyenne River Sioux Tribe, Elementary Education/Indian Studies; Sinte Gleska University, Rosebud: Dee Lapointe, Rosebud Sioux Tribe, Office Technology; Sisseton Wahpeton College, Sisseton: Robert Barse, Sisseton Wahpeton Sioux, Cross-Cultural Counseling

In Washington, Northwest Indian College, Bellingham: Jennifer Taylor, Tlingit, Shangookeidi, General Studies

In Wisconsin, College of the Menominee Nation, Keshena: Jeffrey Barwick, Menominee Nation, Human Services; Lac Courte Oreilles Ojibwa Community College, Hayward: Christopher Boyd, Red Cliff Chippewa, Substance Counseling

pictograph divider

Home PageFront PageArchivesOur AwardsAbout Us

Kid's PageColoring BookCool LinksGuest BookEmail Us


pictograph divider

  Canku Ota is a free Newsletter celebrating Native America, its traditions and accomplishments . We do not provide subscriber or visitor names to anyone. Some articles presented in Canku Ota may contain copyright material. We have received appropriate permissions for republishing any articles. Material appearing here is distributed without profit or monetary gain to those who have expressed an interest. This is in accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107.  

Canku Ota is a copyright © 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004 of Vicki Lockard and Paul Barry.

Canku Ota Logo   Canku Ota Logo

The "Canku Ota - A Newsletter Celebrating Native America" web site and its design is the

Copyright © 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004 of Paul C. Barry.

All Rights Reserved.

Site Meter
Thank You

Valid HTML 4.01!